

A few institutions, tired of seeing their while Like the landlord who maists other schools, instituted a type of "retaining fee." Like the landlord who maists you pay the last month's rent on a three-year lease before you move in, these consist mainly of holding back part of the salary as a guarantee of contract

The annual revision among coaches saw the departure from collegiate ranks of three of football's staunchest citizens-Lynn Waldorf at California, Don Faurot at Missouri and Lou Little at Columbia. Waldorf "resigned" after a decade in his job, Little retired and Faurot moved up to the athletic directorship. A monument to Faurot's coaching days, however, will always be the

An interesting development during the past season was the adoption by Split-T, which he developed. the Big Ten of an aid program based on the actual need of the prospective student after the resources of his family had been evaluated. Effective this fall, it is still too new to see how it will work, but the conference is hopeful it will be a step towards solving this growing problem of subsidization.

So much for coaching, TV, aid, trends, etc. What about the teams them-

Not much surprise to find Oklahoma last fall once again voted the No. 1 selves? team of the nation by the Football Writers' Association and the recipient of the Grantland Rice award. Nor to find the Sooners pretty close to the top in all the forecasts for 1957.

Among the chief surprises were failure by many of the teams highly touted before the season began to finish among the leaders. Michigan State, Texas Christian, Maryland, Stanford, Ohio State, Illinois and particularly Notre

NATIONAL CHAMPIONS, 1924-1956	
Oklahoma was the 1956 choice of the press association polls for college football's unofficial national championship. It was the second title in a row for the Sooners and their third in the past eight years. The Associated Press poll of sports writers was originated in 1936 and the United Press poll of college coaches has joined in the fun since 1950. Both polls represent the combined opinions of observers in all sections of the country and have come to be the most popularly recognized bases for the mythical award. Prior to the polls, the Rissman and Knute Rockne trophies, symbolic of the national title, were awarded annually from 1924 to 1936, The national champions for all 33 years	
1956—Oklahoma1947—Notre Dame1939—Texas A&M1931—So. California1955—Oklahoma1946—Notre Dame1938—T.C.U.1930—Notre Dame1953—Maryland1944—Army1936—Minnesota1929—Notre Dame1952—Michigan State1943—Notre Dame1935—S.M.U.1928—So. California1950—Oklahoma1944—Army1936—Minnesota1928—So. California1950—Oklahoma1944—Ohio State1935—S.M.U.1926—Stanford1950—Oklahoma1941—Minnesota1933—Michigan1926—Stanford1948—Michigan1940—Minnesota1932—Michigan1925—Dartmoutb1948—Michigan1940—Minnesota1932—Michigan1924—Notre Dame	
NATIONAL RATINGS, 1936-1956In a composite picture of the press association polls for the past 21 years, Notre Dame emerges as the No. 1 team by a wide margin. Counting 10 points for each first rating, 9 for second and so on, the Irish have accumulated 103 points to 75 for second-place Oklahoma. The 21-year leaders:1. Notre Dame .1035. Army	

BES

Ham

(righ

Dan

Big

Fe